Tuesday, December 8, 2015
The province has the ability to terminate its contract with Carillion. This is not earth-shattering, but is something I can write with stone-cold certainty now that I have a copy of the contract between the provincial government and the multi-national c
Thursday, November 26, 2015
While some county residents may be lining up for Black Friday sales this week, in a few weeks time, others will be lining up for a basket from the Minden Christmas Basket Campaign. The program helps provide gifts and food for households that may have fal
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
They say the only constants in life are change and beer. Well, they say something like that.
Friday, December 18, 2015
As has become an end-of-year tradition around here, these are the top 10 news stories of 2015 for the western half of Haliburton County.
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
2016 will be a year of changes for the Haliburton County Fair as organizers alter its format.
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
During the weekend, someone set fire to Peterborough s sole mosque. Police are investigating the arson as a hate crime and while there is no proof it was some kind of response to the horror that unfolded in Paris last Friday, that it took place the fol
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
It s far too early to make any judgment about how newly minted Prime Minister Justin Trudeau is doing, although that of course isn t stopping detractors.
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
In the last few weeks, one of the major topics of the campaign has become whether a tiny number of women should be allowed to wear a religious face covering while taking the citizenship oath.
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Canadians awoke to a substantively different country Tuesday than they had Monday, the country s Conservative majority government replaced by a Liberal one and the man who d been Prime Minister for nearly a decade decisively stripped of that title.
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Minden Hills Councillor Jeanne Anthon has suggested on more than one occasion the upper tier of Haliburton County should institute some kind of standardized approval framework for lower tier councils to use in the assessment of solar project proposals.
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
The phrase water levels management will likely cause many pairs of eyeballs to immediately glaze over.
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
As I write this, it s minus 11 degrees outside, but it wasn t so a couple of days ago. A couple of days ago it was plus eight.
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Haliburton-Kawartha Lakes-Brock MP Jamie Schmale and members of his Conservative caucus are promoting a petition from one of their colleagues.
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Smart phones have changed our lives in myriad ways. The way we communicate, the way we use the Internet, the way we shop and date and get directions. They ve also made our roads more dangerous.
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
It s difficult, impossible, really, for those of us living here in the comfortable 21st century, with our automobiles and propane heating and pocket-sized devices capable of holding the sum total of human knowledge, to truly fathom the hardships the peopl
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Job creation, along with business attraction and retention, are major and ongoing challenges in Haliburton County.
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
When are government officials acting in the public interest and when are they just trying to justify their own positions? It s difficult to tell sometimes.
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Springtime is flood season in Haliburton County, particularly in Minden, where the hearty pioneers who settled the place, God bless em, built the community on a flood plain.
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Imagine for March, which is maple-tapping time in Haliburton County, Minden s downtown decked out with sap buckets and spring kites.
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Ontario s municipalities are in trouble. They are camels whose backs can t handle much more baggage.
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
I lost a friend to suicide last year. I didn t find out until months after it happened.
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Haliburton County council has decided the county will close its tourist information centre along Highway 35 in Minden at the end of year and that s OK.
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
ust what to do about the Minden Hills Cultural Centre how to make it more economically viable and how to bring more people through its doors, which are of course linked is a puzzle that s been pondered by a succession of Minden Hills councils.
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Think of critical infrastructure and one may picture roads, bridges and culverts. Think of essential services and ambulances and fire trucks may come to mind.
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
There s a joke about Haliburton County and farming, the punch line being that the poor settlers who came to the area in the 19th century with visions of bountiful crop yields found the only thing they could harvest from the hills of Haliburton were rocks.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7