Wednesday, September 26, 2018
After hearing a presentation about a partnership between ride sharing company Uber and the Town of Innisfil, Haliburton County councillors recently asked to hear more about the arrangement, requesting more information from the involved parties.
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Earlier this week, Ontario MP Leona Alleslev crossed the floor in the House of Commons, leaving Justin Trudeau s Liberal government, to join the Conservative benches.
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Last week, a wave of furor ripped across the country, as Conservative leader Andrew Scheer attempted to demonize Trudeau s Liberals for allowing the murderer of Tori Stafford to be transferred from a medium security prison to a facility being referred to
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
A number of recurring themes have arisen at municipal all-candidates meetings in the county during the past few weeks.
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Signage is undoubtedly being collected throughout Haliburton County as I write this, as the proverbial dust of another series of municipal elections settles over the community.
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
On Monday, Premier Doug Ford held a press conference that was nothing short of exceptional; exceptional in a bad way.
Wednesday, September 5, 2018
The Township of Minden Hills should dispose of the Scotch Line landfill Mountain Lake seagulls. Let s just say it, or, in my case, write it.
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Minden Hills council has awarded the contract for a major renovation of the S.G. Nesbitt Memorial Arena and Minden Hills Community Centre, in a move that seems a little hasty.
Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Doug Ford s buck-a-beer pledge is the stupidest bit of political tokenism he has produced so far.
Thursday, August 23, 2018
This week marks the third annual Minden Pride, a celebration of inclusion and diversity that began as a picnic two summers ago, and has blossomed into a weeklong series of events.
Tuesday, August 28, 2018
The county s newspapers and radio stations are once again uniting to present a series of candidates meetings in the lead-up to municipal elections on Oct. 22.
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Last week, the Lindsay office of Haliburton-Kawartha Lakes-Brock MPP and Ontario Labour Minister Laurie Scott was vandalized; windows smashed, the front customer service area ransacked.
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
The next federal election is just less than a year away, but already it seems evident that certain issues such as carbon taxation and immigration policy will play a large role.
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
An annual tradition, here is a list of the top 10 Times stories of the year.
Friday, December 21, 2018
It is indeed a wonderful life, especially when we begin laughing at ourselves.
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
The legalization of marijuana in Ontario has been a bong show ... er, gong show, ever since the process began, and that continues to be the case.
Thursday, January 24, 2019
When I was a reporter in Osoyoos, B.C., there was a town councillor who d made it his mission to see the municipality reclaim a number of public lake accesses that had, over time, been . . . let s say usurped by neighbouring property owners.
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Premier Doug Ford took the stage at the Rural Ontario Municipal Association conference in Toronto during the weekend, giving a 10-minute address during which he said a lot of the right things.
Thursday, December 20, 2018
On Monday night, Minden Hills residents got a preliminary, conceptual snapshot of what a new arena and revitalized community centre might look like during a presentation by reps of the architectural and construction firms involved in what has been labelle
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Holding public office is often a thankless job.
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
The feds are making close to half a billion dollars available for climate change projects in Ontario, and hopefully we will see at least a little bit of that money come into Haliburton County.
Wednesday, November 21, 2018
With a host of yuletide festivities getting underway in the county, it would appear that the Christmas season is upon us.
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Some readers may have noticed there s been some criticism of the policies of the Ford government in this space in recent months, and so it s fair to acknowledge when the province s new administration is doing something very right, which it is with new leg
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
This week new municipal councils across Haliburton County are getting sworn in, as a fresh council term gets underway. There are a lot of councillors in Haliburton County too many and the absolute No. 1 priority of the new term should be the establish
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
During a Minden Hills council meeting last week, Councillor Bob Carter wondered how the cost of the so-called validation phase of the Minden arena project could run a 50 per cent overage in the span of six weeks.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7