Tuesday, October 18, 2016
It s a tough time to be a rural Ontarian.
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
There is a quotation often attributed to Albert Einstein which goes something like this: Everybody is a genius, but if you judge a goldfish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
This is an open letter to the individual or individuals vandalizing a Haliburton business with anti-gay graffiti.
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
The end of summer was tinged with tragedy in Algonquin Highlands when a 29-year-old man lost his life in a cliff-jumping incident on Raven Lake during the Labour Day weekend.
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
I ve written this before, I m writing it now and chances are I ll write it again in the future. Minden Hills township cannot afford an indoor swimming pool.
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
When the next round of Ontario municipal elections happen in 2018, the campaign period will be substantially shorter than it was in 2014.
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
A long line of cars made its way down Highway 35 on Monday, to 48 and the 400, to the GTA and areas beyond.
Thursday, September 1, 2016
The situation that s unfolded at Bob Lake, just south of Minden, during the summer is a mess.
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Last Saturday night, a number of Minden residents made their way into the village s downtown to an outdoor screen set up at the River Cone to watch a rock and roll show.
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
We exist in a political culture that has become quite cynical, so when a federal government talks about changing the electoral process, it s difficult to tell if that change is really about making voting more fair or about the governing party trying to ke
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
It s a narrative that s unfolded over several years, spanning the terms of multiple Minden Hills councils.
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Municipal councils should have authority over the approval of renewable energy projects within their jurisdictions.
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Last week I was returning home from work, pulling in the driveway, as I noticed the sun gleaming off something nestled in the grass near a ditch at the periphery of the property.
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Well, what do you know? OPP detachment staff lists are public information. Cough.
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
This week, the rainbow flag the international symbol of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community flew atop the flagpole at the Minden Hills township office for the first time. Council granted a request to fly the flag during a meeting las
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
As many readers are likely already aware, a Haliburton Village business was vandalized in a despicable display of homophobia last week.
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
magine it s an autumn morning, crisp and clear. Sun is gleaming off an amber canvas of leaves amid a robin-egg-blue background. You go to the kitchen to pour yourself another cup of coffee and there, through the window, you see a stranger relieving hims
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Bigger bills and fewer services.
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
When it comes to rural Ontario communities promoting themselves as tourism destinations, few do it better than Prince Edward County.
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Earlier this year I was driving along Highway 118, westbound, between West Guilford and Carnarvon. It was an overcast winter day, just starting to lilt into twilight. For several kilometres, I d been following a low-riding Jetta. Our little caravan pas
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Residents of Haliburton-Kawartha Lakes-Brock got a rare opportunity this month when MP Jamie Schmale mailed out ballots for a constituency referendum.
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Some people leave behind an incredibly big void when they go. Malcolm MacLean was one of those people.
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
There was an interesting planning discussion during an Algonquin Highlands council meeting last week and similarly interesting planning discussions are bound to take place amongst the county s other municipal councils in the not-so-distant future.
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
The Ontario s Highlands Tourism Organization (OHTO), the regional tourism organization encapsulating the Haliburton Highlands, revealed its new brand platform to local stakeholders late last month.
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
A new requirement for provincial approval for docks and boathouses of a certain size needs comprehensive dialogue between the Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry and the province s municipalities before any reasonable approval framework is put into
1 2 3