Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Haliburton County is a community that takes care of its own.
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
There are none so blind as those that cannot see.
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
As she chaired her final county council meeting as warden for 2016 last week, Algonquin Highlands Reeve Carol Moffatt tabled a report suggesting that during the final two years of the current term, council at least have a conversation about potential chan
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
At the beginning of this school year, the Minden Ontario Early Years Centre, long located at the Sears building along Bobcaygeon, was relocated into Archie Stouffer Elementary School.
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
The election of Donald Trump as the next president of the United States has brought up numerous questions about just what is going on in the country to our south.
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
There is one simple and wonderful change the provincial government could make to the OMB that would greatly improve the way planning matters are handled in Ontario.
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
What s the point of creating a policy if you re not going to use it? This is a question Minden Hills councillors might ask themselves.
Tuesday, October 18, 2016
It s a tough time to be a rural Ontarian.
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
There is a quotation often attributed to Albert Einstein which goes something like this: Everybody is a genius, but if you judge a goldfish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
This is an open letter to the individual or individuals vandalizing a Haliburton business with anti-gay graffiti.
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
The end of summer was tinged with tragedy in Algonquin Highlands when a 29-year-old man lost his life in a cliff-jumping incident on Raven Lake during the Labour Day weekend.
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
I ve written this before, I m writing it now and chances are I ll write it again in the future. Minden Hills township cannot afford an indoor swimming pool.
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
When the next round of Ontario municipal elections happen in 2018, the campaign period will be substantially shorter than it was in 2014.
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
A long line of cars made its way down Highway 35 on Monday, to 48 and the 400, to the GTA and areas beyond.
Thursday, September 1, 2016
The situation that s unfolded at Bob Lake, just south of Minden, during the summer is a mess.
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Last Saturday night, a number of Minden residents made their way into the village s downtown to an outdoor screen set up at the River Cone to watch a rock and roll show.
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
We exist in a political culture that has become quite cynical, so when a federal government talks about changing the electoral process, it s difficult to tell if that change is really about making voting more fair or about the governing party trying to ke
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
It s a narrative that s unfolded over several years, spanning the terms of multiple Minden Hills councils.
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Municipal councils should have authority over the approval of renewable energy projects within their jurisdictions.
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Last week I was returning home from work, pulling in the driveway, as I noticed the sun gleaming off something nestled in the grass near a ditch at the periphery of the property.
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Well, what do you know? OPP detachment staff lists are public information. Cough.
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
This week, the rainbow flag the international symbol of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community flew atop the flagpole at the Minden Hills township office for the first time. Council granted a request to fly the flag during a meeting las
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
As many readers are likely already aware, a Haliburton Village business was vandalized in a despicable display of homophobia last week.
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
magine it s an autumn morning, crisp and clear. Sun is gleaming off an amber canvas of leaves amid a robin-egg-blue background. You go to the kitchen to pour yourself another cup of coffee and there, through the window, you see a stranger relieving hims
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Bigger bills and fewer services.
1 2 3