Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Spring technically arrived this week, making its entrance Monday.
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
When municipal elections take place next year, the year will be 2018.
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Who says being an Opposition member in a legislature controlled by a majority government means you can t accomplish anything?
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
With cottage season coming up soon, it seems like a good time to discuss the importance of shoreline health.
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Never underestimate the power of a group of angry people.
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has broken numerous election pledges since taking office, but the fracturing of a very clear promise to reform Canada s electoral system before the next election is perhaps the most egregious, because of the cynicism with whi
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
It would be a waste of time and resources for local townships to attempt to regulate or restrict private, short-term cottage rentals in Haliburton County.
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Minden Hills council made the right call last week by making a $5,000 donation to the Peterborough Haliburton YWCA in order to help the women s shelter in Minden continue to operate.
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Post-truth. That s the era pundits and professors say we ve now entered. A time with such an overwhelming excess of information, much of it circulated through the digital tentacles of the Internet, that finding information that is verifiable as true bec
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
This weekend, members of the Haliburton County Fair board will get together for their annual general meeting.
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
The Wynne government is starting 2017 with its promise to reduce Ontarians Hydro One bills, but with the introduction of the province s cap-and-trade system on Jan. 1, it seems likely that the cost of living, for Haliburton County residents, anyway, will
Thursday, January 5, 2017
As is an annual tradition around here, here are the top 10 news stories of 2016 for Minden Hills and Algonquin Highlands.
Thursday, January 5, 2017
As is an annual tradition around here, here are the top 10 news stories of 2016 for Minden Hills and Algonquin Highlands.
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Minden Hills council recently made a decision to forgo the live streaming of council meetings to the Internet, at least for now.
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Like a drunken Vaudeville performer, the Trudeau government is doing a ham-fisted jig away from its promise to create a new federal voting system in this country.
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Haliburton County is a community that takes care of its own.
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
There are none so blind as those that cannot see.
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
As she chaired her final county council meeting as warden for 2016 last week, Algonquin Highlands Reeve Carol Moffatt tabled a report suggesting that during the final two years of the current term, council at least have a conversation about potential chan
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
At the beginning of this school year, the Minden Ontario Early Years Centre, long located at the Sears building along Bobcaygeon, was relocated into Archie Stouffer Elementary School.
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
The election of Donald Trump as the next president of the United States has brought up numerous questions about just what is going on in the country to our south.
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
There is one simple and wonderful change the provincial government could make to the OMB that would greatly improve the way planning matters are handled in Ontario.
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
What s the point of creating a policy if you re not going to use it? This is a question Minden Hills councillors might ask themselves.
Tuesday, October 18, 2016
It s a tough time to be a rural Ontarian.
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
There is a quotation often attributed to Albert Einstein which goes something like this: Everybody is a genius, but if you judge a goldfish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
This is an open letter to the individual or individuals vandalizing a Haliburton business with anti-gay graffiti.
1 2 3 4