Tuesday, August 8, 2017
Once it hit the media, it took exactly a week for the strange saga of the trademarking of the word Haliburton by a local man for commercial purposes to come to a conclusion.
Tuesday, August 1, 2017
This was to be the summer of innovation at the lake.
Tuesday, August 1, 2017
It seems like something out of The Beaverton or The Onion or any other number of satirical publications, but it is in fact, real life.
Tuesday, July 25, 2017
As has been written in this space before, two major Minden floods in a four-year period have made it evident that flood mitigation infrastructure will be required in the village.
Thursday, July 20, 2017
The issues of landfills and waste diversion have taken up a lot of space in this publication lately.
Tuesday, July 11, 2017
Minden continues to grow and evolve, as evidenced by a number of openings that took place within the village in early July.
Wednesday, July 5, 2017
Sometimes, during the winter, I wonder why it is that I continue to live in Haliburton County. Often, these ponderances come when I m snow-blowing my relatively long driveway on a dark, February evening, Arctic-calibre winds lashing at my face.
Tuesday, June 27, 2017
A few weeks ago, a delegation of seasonal residents showed up in Minden Hills council chambers, upset that council was, in their opinion, moving too quickly to approve a series of zoning bylaw amendments, some with implications for waterfront properties.
Thursday, June 22, 2017
What s in a name? Apparently enough to approve a title change for the head of council three quarters of the way through the current council term.
Tuesday, June 13, 2017
There was some fiery conversation in Minden Hills council chambers last week.
Tuesday, June 6, 2017
Some serious waves were created last week when it was announced a $120,000 provincial grant would be used to help rent a giant rubber duck to be brought to Toronto s Redpath Waterfront Festival in celebration of Canada s sesquicentennial anniversary.
Tuesday, May 30, 2017
Every working person deserves to not have to worry about covering basic expenses. The Haliburton Highlands Chamber of Commerce, with the support of the Ontario Chamber of Commerce, recently sent a letter to Premier Kathleen Wynne indicating it opposes
Thursday, May 25, 2017
Last week it was reported that the Svalbard Global Seed Vault, a doomsday bunker protecting a reserve of almost 900,000 international food crop seeds deep within a mountain in Norway had flooded in October.
Tuesday, May 16, 2017
There s erring on the side of the caution, and then there s hyperbolic overreaction to a perceived threat.
Thursday, May 11, 2017
A dark wave of déjà vu shot through Minden last Thursday as water levels that had been steadily rising in the Gull River for days reached a critical point.
Tuesday, May 2, 2017
Haliburton County is making a request of the province that the municipality become the ultimate approval authority for official plan amendments and there is no reason the province shouldn t acquiesce to that request.
Tuesday, April 25, 2017
I have written hundreds upon hundreds of columns, but as I begin this one, everything is different.
Wednesday, April 19, 2017
I started visiting Ruby Gilbert after I interviewed her for an article about residents at Hyland Crest and Highland Wood long-term care homes. The series, called The Road to Highland Wood, was about life stories. Some interview subjects gave short summari
Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Firefighters put their lives at risk in more ways than one on the job. They obviously put their physical safety at risk, but so too their mental health.
Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Shoreline road allowances are complicated, in both their history and the way municipalities deal with them. Minden Hills councillors may wish to think carefully before agreeing to an increase on the price of shoreline road allowances that would essential
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
It sometimes feels like the provincial government is trying to pinch communities north of Highway 7 out of existence.
Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Spring technically arrived this week, making its entrance Monday.
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
When municipal elections take place next year, the year will be 2018.
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Who says being an Opposition member in a legislature controlled by a majority government means you can t accomplish anything?
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
With cottage season coming up soon, it seems like a good time to discuss the importance of shoreline health.
1 2 3 4