Thursday, April 28, 2016
Lines on the road By Jim Poling
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Billy Skead was buried during the winter but the question continues to prick the conscience of his troubled aboriginal community: Why did he die?
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
It is remarkable how small events often mark major change.
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
So, here I am in California getting to know Rusty.
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
The Canadian customs officer feeds my passport into the scanner, then looks up and asks: What are you bringing back with you?
Thursday, April 14, 2016
It has come to this: If you sat in front of your television set for 10 straight hours (God forbid!) you would be bombarded with roughly three hours of commercials.
Thursday, April 7, 2016
This week our topic is the yin to malt s yang, and the focal point for the craft-beer-loving masses of late hops.
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Hola! I am just back from a week on the Costa Tropical in Andalucía Spain. My sister and her husband wisely decided to spend the winter in Spain so that meant free accommodation for me!
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Evidence continues to stack up proving that trees are among our best friends who help us to enjoy healthier and happier lives.
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
People continue to shake their heads and ask how Donald Trump, the vulgarian who inherited all his money, got to be a U.S. presidential contender. The answer will not be found by studying the man. The answer lies within the millions of Americans who suppo
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
I think it is time that Justin the Good sat down for a serious heart to heart with his No. 1 policeman, RCMP Commissioner Bob Paulson.
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
You might recall from school days the story of the young Greek guy who sat beside a pool, saw his image reflected in the water and fell in love with himself. He couldn t drag himself away and sat moonstruck, staring at his reflection until he died.
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
It was the beavers, those clever, industrious engineers, who had the idea: Turn house building into an industry that would create jobs and build a strong economy benefitting all forest creatures.
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Just when you think the world has enough to worry about . . . .
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Mr. Mercedes would wear a smile wide as a western horizon if he travelled Haliburton County roads this summer.
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
In Cooperstown, New York it s all baseball. All baseball, all the time. All baseball everywhere.
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
There are moments when you miss the good old days. Well, maybe just pieces of the good old days.
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
One hundred and two years ago - at 1 p.m. on Sept. 1 to be exact - someone walked past the Cincinnati Zoo bird cage and saw Martha on the cage floor, drumsticks up.
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
The open door revealed a scene like nothing Shainie had ever seen. Shafts of sunlight entering the broken windows and cracks in the walls sliced the smoky dimness of the interior, highlighting once normal cottage contents now succumbing to years of neglec
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
A local legend told that on nights when the grey mist following a big storm settled over Ghostly Point on Shkendang Lake, a moaning could be heard in the trees. A moan that pricked the skin and pulled at the heart. The Ojibwa said it was their leader cryi
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Evening shadows arrive like cloaked ninjas descending silently into the treetops. Soon all light dims into non-existence, consumed by the night.
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
It has been excellent weather for the vegetable garden, thank you Ms. Weatherwoman. The peas, beans, carrots and corn are jumping so it looks like we ll have veggies galore later this summer, and into the fall.
Thursday, June 23, 2016
It was a long ago scene, from a time before invention of smart phones that take video. That s unfortunate because what I saw then would have made a cool video on the art of splitting wood.
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Summer without campfire stories? No way! Here s one of mine that we will publish in three parts over the next three weeks.
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Blink a couple of times and the fall hunting season will be here. So it s time to start checking the hunting gear.
2 3 4 5 6 7 8