Tuesday, March 29, 2016
People continue to shake their heads and ask how Donald Trump, the vulgarian who inherited all his money, got to be a U.S. presidential contender. The answer will not be found by studying the man. The answer lies within the millions of Americans who suppo
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Evidence continues to stack up proving that trees are among our best friends who help us to enjoy healthier and happier lives.
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
I think it is time that Justin the Good sat down for a serious heart to heart with his No. 1 policeman, RCMP Commissioner Bob Paulson.
Thursday, April 7, 2016
This week our topic is the yin to malt s yang, and the focal point for the craft-beer-loving masses of late hops.
Thursday, April 14, 2016
It has come to this: If you sat in front of your television set for 10 straight hours (God forbid!) you would be bombarded with roughly three hours of commercials.
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Hola! I am just back from a week on the Costa Tropical in Andalucía Spain. My sister and her husband wisely decided to spend the winter in Spain so that meant free accommodation for me!
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
A guided tour through the art, science and history of our favourite 7,000-year-old beverage with beer columnist Brent Milcz.
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Everything I read about tattoos was interesting, although not necessarily helpful. Then I landed on some totally unexpected, bombshell information: Some tattoo studios in the United States are offering free Donald Trump tattoos.
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
A malaise that vague sense that something is not right has us in its grip.
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
It was one of the those wood frame windows they built into 2 -storey family homes 100 years ago. Perhaps four feet tall, and 2 feet wide with a push up lower sash that allowed cool air to flow in during summer.
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
We ve seen the final episode of Downton Abbey, but the finales of two real-life Canadian dramas will be aired within the next few weeks.
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Billy Skead was buried during the winter but the question continues to prick the conscience of his troubled aboriginal community: Why did he die?
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Lines on the road By Jim Poling
Thursday, June 23, 2016
It was a long ago scene, from a time before invention of smart phones that take video. That s unfortunate because what I saw then would have made a cool video on the art of splitting wood.
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
It has been excellent weather for the vegetable garden, thank you Ms. Weatherwoman. The peas, beans, carrots and corn are jumping so it looks like we ll have veggies galore later this summer, and into the fall.
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Summer without campfire stories? No way! Here s one of mine that we will publish in three parts over the next three weeks.
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
A local legend told that on nights when the grey mist following a big storm settled over Ghostly Point on Shkendang Lake, a moaning could be heard in the trees. A moan that pricked the skin and pulled at the heart. The Ojibwa said it was their leader cryi
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
The open door revealed a scene like nothing Shainie had ever seen. Shafts of sunlight entering the broken windows and cracks in the walls sliced the smoky dimness of the interior, highlighting once normal cottage contents now succumbing to years of neglec
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Evening shadows arrive like cloaked ninjas descending silently into the treetops. Soon all light dims into non-existence, consumed by the night.
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
It was the beavers, those clever, industrious engineers, who had the idea: Turn house building into an industry that would create jobs and build a strong economy benefitting all forest creatures.
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
It is remarkable how small events often mark major change.
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
So, here I am in California getting to know Rusty.
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
The Canadian customs officer feeds my passport into the scanner, then looks up and asks: What are you bringing back with you?
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
You might recall from school days the story of the young Greek guy who sat beside a pool, saw his image reflected in the water and fell in love with himself. He couldn t drag himself away and sat moonstruck, staring at his reflection until he died.
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Mr. Mercedes would wear a smile wide as a western horizon if he travelled Haliburton County roads this summer.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7