Tuesday, July 11, 2017
One hundred years ago this week a vacationing Toronto doctor was relaxing at his rented cottage on Algonquin Park s Canoe Lake. He looked out over the water and noticed an odd piece of flotsam.
Wednesday, July 5, 2017
I ll never forget Canada Day 2017. It was the day Louie learned to swim.
Tuesday, July 18, 2017
Don t mess with Mother Nature, used to be a cute and humorous expression. Not these days. Too often now we witness how an angry Mother Nature fights back.
Thursday, July 27, 2017
If you see a beaver this summer, stop to give it a hug. The poor little guy or gal could use some affection, and some appreciation. If you don t want to get too close, just blow it a kiss.
Tuesday, August 1, 2017
This was to be the summer of innovation at the lake.
Thursday, June 29, 2017
I don t know anyone who likes doing Burpees. When I have clients do them (notice I didn t say ask clients to do them ) this question often comes up Why are they called Burpees? Until now, I didn t know the answer. But now, thanks to Google, I do.
Tuesday, June 27, 2017
There is hope.
Tuesday, May 30, 2017
Machines and I don t get along. I have never done them any bad, but they have never liked me. Whenever we meet, they treat me like an idiot. That happened again last week when I had to make a trip into the Big Smoke.
Tuesday, June 6, 2017
Finally, the mystery is solved.
Tuesday, June 13, 2017
There is an important anniversary in my life this month. It is an anniversary that tells more about a changed culture than my individual life.
Tuesday, June 20, 2017
I love the sound of dragonfly wings in the evening.
Tuesday, August 8, 2017
The era of the personality cult finally appears to be ended at CBC s The National.
Wednesday, August 16, 2017
It is disheartening how we Canadians manage to turn interesting and important debates into spiteful squabbles. We toss emotion and hard core bias onto the path toward the clarity needed for understanding. The latest example is the foggy but vicious debate
Wednesday, October 4, 2017
Our grand sugar maple, the signature tree of our lake property, became too sick to save and had to be taken down.
Tuesday, September 26, 2017
In the beginning there was none. No television. No electronics.
Wednesday, October 4, 2017
Invictus, means unconquerable or undefeated in Latin. Invictus is a poem that focuses on the human spirit and its ability to overcome adversity. It is a rallying cry for those who find themselves in dark and trying situations, who have to dig deep and
Wednesday, October 4, 2017
A neuromuscular connection occurs between a muscle fibre and nerve. It s like a conversation between the two parties. Our brain says: Scratch that itch on the tip of your nose.
Wednesday, October 4, 2017
Do you need assistance with technology related topics? On Wednesday, Oct. 11 and Oct. 25 at 2:30 p.m. the Dorset branch of the Haliburton County Public Library is hosting Tech Time Rural Outreach. This is a great opportunity to have any questions answere
Tuesday, September 19, 2017
Mopping up the messes of Hurricanes Harvey and Irma is happening hundreds of miles away but Canadian consumers need to take care that they don t get soaked.
Tuesday, September 12, 2017
Most of us have gone through life thinking little about nuclear war. The chances of it have been minimal because everyone understands that launching just one nuke could bring global catastrophe, perhaps even end human civilization.
Tuesday, August 22, 2017
My first thought was that it was a ludicrous notion. Then I said to myself: Get cool. Explore a new trend. And that s how I got to go glamping.
Wednesday, August 23, 2017
At one point in my life I considered myself a runner. I truly believed that if I didn t go for a run I wasn t exercising. Even an hour on the squash court didn t count as exercise in my mind. The incredibly funny and shortsighted part of that thought proc
Wednesday, August 30, 2017
So much to do, but so many stupid people in the way. You can t get important stuff done when surrounded by incompetents.
Tuesday, September 5, 2017
School days, school days, good old fashioned . . . Reading and writing and rithmetic . . . . and coding.
Tuesday, October 10, 2017
Bahteh Wallow was a democratic society founded on the idea that all animals are created equal. It had evolved from a revolution and a civil war as a homeland for elephants, but other species were welcomed.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7