Tuesday, December 6, 2016
There are none so blind as those that cannot see.
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
My daughter s steep-sided backyard in California has a strangely shaped tree. It grows out of the hillside naturally but then bends, forms an arch, and follows the ground down the hill to the patio.
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Calm and reason appear to have returned to the isolated corners of America. At least they have in the corner that I am visiting
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Blue jays are such contradictory creatures. I m not thinking baseball s Blue Jays, who hit everything out of the park one day, but can t make contact with anything smaller than a 10-pin bowling ball the next.
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
The torture of Adam Capay in Thunder Bay Jail says as much about how politicians are failing us as anything else happening in the world today.
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Red squirrels always have been, well, a bit squirrelly, but this fall they are completely crazy.
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
For some seven years, what was once the Beaver Theatre has stood shuttered and silent, like a ghost along Minden s Water Street.
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
I took a ride with The Girl on the Train but found the journey a bit too long.
Tuesday, October 18, 2016
It was a week of good news and bad news.
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Finally there is an escape route from the nightmare in the United States. How did we not think of it before? It has been in front of us for 10 months.
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
I sit straight up in bed, wide awake even before my eyes open. They don t need to be open because it is 6 a.m. and pitch black.
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
The rise of Trumpism with all its anger, fear, wild exaggerations and other hateful negatives is a good thing.
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Like a lot of folks, there was a time when I never went to bed without watching CBC s The National. Like a lot of people now, I almost never turn the program on.
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Oh! What a tangled web we weave, when first we practice to deceive.
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Summer, its days fading quickly, has been generous and kind this year. Sunshine aplenty, but without the scorching heat predicted to become a regular feature of climate change.
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Their work for the year almost done, the yellow jacket wasps now have time to explore human spaces, and the leftovers they contain.
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Blink a couple of times and the fall hunting season will be here. So it s time to start checking the hunting gear.
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
One hundred and two years ago - at 1 p.m. on Sept. 1 to be exact - someone walked past the Cincinnati Zoo bird cage and saw Martha on the cage floor, drumsticks up.
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
There are moments when you miss the good old days. Well, maybe just pieces of the good old days.
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
In Cooperstown, New York it s all baseball. All baseball, all the time. All baseball everywhere.
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Just when you think the world has enough to worry about . . . .
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Mr. Mercedes would wear a smile wide as a western horizon if he travelled Haliburton County roads this summer.
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
The open door revealed a scene like nothing Shainie had ever seen. Shafts of sunlight entering the broken windows and cracks in the walls sliced the smoky dimness of the interior, highlighting once normal cottage contents now succumbing to years of neglec
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
A local legend told that on nights when the grey mist following a big storm settled over Ghostly Point on Shkendang Lake, a moaning could be heard in the trees. A moan that pricked the skin and pulled at the heart. The Ojibwa said it was their leader cryi
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Summer without campfire stories? No way! Here s one of mine that we will publish in three parts over the next three weeks.
1 2 3