Thursday, March 16, 2017
Is Art elitist ? Art is a reflection of society. There is little else that could be more about humanity. Why is it, then, that some people think it is not for them but only for the upper society, those elitists ?
Thursday, March 16, 2017
I recently had the opportunity to attend a talk by André Alexis, author of the Giller Prize winning Fifteen Dogs.
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Richard Wagamese completed his life journey last week, leaving behind the only thing any of us leave: his story.
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
There is good news and not-so-good news about the weather for Haliburton County over the next three months.
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
When you ve lived much of your life in snow country, grossly swelling snow banks are no big deal. Certainly nothing to worry about.
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
News of a death does not always bring only dark sadness. Sometimes it brings illumination. That was the case last week when we learned that Stuart McLean, an unpretentious Canadian icon, had passed away. He died at 68 of cancer.
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
The number of Canadians who say they read books is continuing to drop. That s not good news because reading books is known to make us better informed citizens while increasing our understanding of others.
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
A dark and heavy despondency had fallen over the forest. The creatures who worked and lived there brooded over their declining state of affairs.
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Canada is a country of great diversity, so it is odd that we might still want to single out anything as especially special in identifying our nationality.
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
So, winter returns to normal this weekend. Sort of.
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
You read it here first!
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Few things hurt more than making a mistake that costs money.
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
The hootin and hollerin over the passing of the old year has subsided as we move along, trying to make this one better than the last.
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
A courier arrived at my door and handed me an envelope embossed with the Canadian coat of Arms. You know, the one with the scowling lion and a silly unicorn, each holding a flag.
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Back in 2003, Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS) arrived in Toronto from China. Roughly 400 people got it, 43 died, Ontario declared a public health emergency and the rest of the country lived in fear waiting for it to spread.
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
There are none so blind as those that cannot see.
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
My daughter s steep-sided backyard in California has a strangely shaped tree. It grows out of the hillside naturally but then bends, forms an arch, and follows the ground down the hill to the patio.
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Calm and reason appear to have returned to the isolated corners of America. At least they have in the corner that I am visiting
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Blue jays are such contradictory creatures. I m not thinking baseball s Blue Jays, who hit everything out of the park one day, but can t make contact with anything smaller than a 10-pin bowling ball the next.
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
The torture of Adam Capay in Thunder Bay Jail says as much about how politicians are failing us as anything else happening in the world today.
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Red squirrels always have been, well, a bit squirrelly, but this fall they are completely crazy.
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
For some seven years, what was once the Beaver Theatre has stood shuttered and silent, like a ghost along Minden s Water Street.
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
I took a ride with The Girl on the Train but found the journey a bit too long.
Tuesday, October 18, 2016
It was a week of good news and bad news.
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Finally there is an escape route from the nightmare in the United States. How did we not think of it before? It has been in front of us for 10 months.
1 2 3 4